Form of Government

Form of Government

According to the Constitution of 1994, the Dominican Republic is a representative democracy in which power is divided into three independent branches: the Executive, Legislative and Judicial Powers. The system of government, as it is defined by the Constitution, is democratic, representative and presidential.

The exercise of executive power lies with the President of the Republic and the Cabinet, composed of the Secretaries of State designated by the president himself. The President is elected by direct vote of the absolute majority (50% plus 1 vote) for a period of four years. If no candidate receives this percentage in the first round of voting, a second round is held 45 days after the first. In keeping with the constitutional reform on 1994, the reelection of the President for periods in succession is currently prohibited.

The Legislative Power is exercised by a bicameral Congress, comprised of the Senate and the Chamber of Deputies. The members of both chambers are elected by direct vote in elections distinct from the presidential election, and for a four year period. Currently, there is one senator for each of the country’s provinces and the Distrito Nacional.

Judicial Power is represented by the Supreme Court of Justice, the Appeals Courts, the Land Tribunals, the Courts of First Instance and the Justices of the Peace.

Palacio Nacional Dominicano

Twitter feed is not available at the moment.
© DominicanaOnline, El portal de la República Dominicana - All Rights Reserved