Territorial Division

The Dominican Republic has 32 political-administrative divisions (31 provinces and the National District), divided into eight geographic regions. The economic development of these provinces has a close relationship to their geographic locations and the natural resources available. Of the 32 provinces, 17 are coastal, including the National District, and have fishing and tourism as their economic base. Five make up the border with Republic of Haiti along the western border, from San Fernando de Montecristi, in the North, until Pedernales, in the South. The rest of the provinces, considered Mediterranean, use the fertility of their valleys for agricultural development, and the topography and climate of the mountain systems for forest development and eco-tourism activities.

Political map of the Dominican Republic


¿Did you know? The provinces with the largest areas are: La Altagracia, Santiago, Azua, La Vega, and San Juan de la Maguana (the largest with 3,664.74 km²). The provinces with the smallest areas are La Romana, Peravia, Valverde, San José de Ocoa, and Salcedo (the smallest with 430 km²).

Sub-regions and provinces

National District  Santo Domingo 
Valdesia Region  Peravia, San Cristóbal, Monte Plata and San José de Ocoa 
East Region   El Seibo, La Altagracia, La Romana, San Pedro de Macorís and Hato Mayor 
Northeast Region   Duarte, María Trinidad Sánchez, Salcedo and Samaná 
Cibao Central Region  La Vega, Sánchez Ramírez y Monseñor Nouel 
Northcentral Region   Espaillat, Puerto Plata and Santiago 
Northwest Region  Dajabón, Montecristi, Santiago Rodríguez and Valverde 
Valley Region   Azua, Elías Piña y San Juan 
Enriquillo Region   Barahona, Independencia and Pedernales 

Provinces, municipalities and capitals   

Provincial code   Province  Municipality  Capital City 
01  DISTRITO NACIONAL  Santo Domingo de Guzmán   Santo Domingo de Guzmán  
02  AZUA  Azua  Azua de Compostela 
03  BAORUCO  Neiba  Neiba 
04  BARAHONA  Barahona   Santa Cruz de Barahona 
05  DAJABÓN  Dajabón  Dajabón 
06  DUARTE  San Francisco de Macorís  San Francisco de Macorís 
07  ELÍAS PIÑA  Comendador  Comendador 
08  EL SEIBO  El Seibo  Santa Cruz del Seibo 
09  ESPAILLAT  Moca  Moca 
10  INDEPENDENCIA  Jimaní  Jimaní 
11  LA ALTAGRACIA  Higüey  Salvaleón de Higüey 
12  LA ROMANA  La Romana  La Romana 
13  LA VEGA  La Vega  Concepción de La Vega 
15  MONTECRISTI  Montecristi  San Fernando de Montecristi 
16  PEDERNALES  Pedernales  Pedernales 
17  PERAVIA  Baní  Baní 
18  PUERTO PLATA  Puerto Plata  San Felipe de Puerto Plata 
19  HERMANAS MIRABAL  Salcedo  Salcedo 
20  SAMANÁ  Samaná  Santa Bárbara de Samaná 
21  SAN CRISTÓBAL  San Cristóbal  San Cristóbal 
22  SAN JUAN   San Juan de la Maguana   San Juan de la Maguana 
23  SAN PEDRO DE MACORÍS  San Pedro de Macorís  San Pedro de Macorís 
24  SÁNCHEZ RAMÍREZ  Cotuí  Cotuí 
25  SANTIAGO  Santiago   Santiago de Los Caballeros 
26  SANTIAGO RODRÍGUEZ  San Ignacio de Sabaneta   San Ignacio de Sabaneta  
27  VALVERDE  Mao  Mao 
28  MONSEÑOR NOUEL  Bonao  Bonao 
29  MONTE PLATA  Monte Plata  Monte Plata 
30  HATO MAYOR  Hato Mayor  Hato Mayor del Rey 
31  SAN JOSÉ DE OCOA  San José de Ocoa  San José de Ocoa 
32  SANTO DOMINGO  Santo Domingo Este  Santo Domingo Este 


Source:  National Statistics Office (ONE) www.one.gob.do

Twitter feed is not available at the moment.
© DominicanaOnline, El portal de la República Dominicana - All Rights Reserved