Dominicana Online » Noticias » Athletes Win Awards

Athletes Win Awards


Athletes Win Awards

The Executive Office of the Dominican Republic handed out awards to various leaders of professional baseball teams as well as to pitchers and team athletic directors for outstanding activity. In keeping with Decree 45-08, the Order of Duarte, Sánchez and Mella Merit Award was bestowed upon, in the Gentleman category, Mr. José Manuel Busto, president of the Tigers Athletic Club of Licey, according to a press release from the Presidential Office of Information, Press and Publicity.

“The Tigers Athletic Club of Licey is celebrating 100 years as a professional baseball team which makes it one of the oldest and most brilliant franchises in the Dominican Republic,” said Busto.

In addition, the Executive Power through Decree 46-08, the Order of the Duarte, Sánchez and Mella Merit Award in the Gentleman category, bestowed the honor on Mr. Winston Llenas, president of the Águilas Cibaeñas group. The presidential measure establishes that “the celebration from February 2-7 in the Cibao Stadium in the city of Santiago de los Caballeros during the 38th Caribbean Series will be an appropriate venue for the recognition of the Águilas Cibaeñas team for having become the professional baseball team with the most wins in the history of baseball in the Dominican Republic.”

As such, Decree 47-08 bestows the Order of Duarte, Sánchez and Mella Merit Award in the Gentleman category, on pitchers David Ortiz, Luís Polonia, Neifi Pérez, Jorge Bell, Pedro Borbón, Gerónimo Berroa and director Félix Fermín.

The official resolution recognizes that the activity of these pitchers in various Caribbean Series has provided honor and brilliance to all sports in the Dominican Republic.


Fecha de Publicación: 02 de febrero del 2008

© DominicanaOnline, El portal de la República Dominicana - All Rights Reserved